††††††††† Oakland Valley Speedway

†††††††††††† Race Report by John Sainz

August 10, 2013: Can you believe itís August already? We were back to racing at Oakland Valley Speedway after another weekend off, and with the mid-summer stretch of races winding down, lots of great racing action on the track today. The first feature to hit the track was the Mediums class. Current points leader Roger Belanger looked to be in top form as he swept both heats and then took the win in the feature. After a hot start win four wins in a row, and then a four race winless streak, Roger picked up his fifth win of the season. Corey Wood was right on his rear bumper looking for a way around him, but got loose out of turn two to fall back a few kart lengths. Dennis Matthews was right there waiting to pounce on Corey for second, but could not make the move. Corey held on for second with Dennis third. Out next was our Junior Sportsman Champ 1 class, which always provides us with some great racing. Daniel Goetz and Robert the Rocket Mattera battled for the lead, swapping it back and forth, but in the end, Daniel held off the challenge from Robert to take the win. Earlier in a heat race, Robert had been involved in an altercation, and had his left front tire come off the bead. But that would not be enough to stop the Rocket. He drove his way to a nice third place finish in that heat race! Nice job Robert! Fast Michael Jacques held off all the other drivers to come in third. Visiting with us again was Dominick the Dominator Abbatiello, who was involved in an incident and was not able to finish the feature. He was ok, kart was not. Our Kid Kart drivers were Alyssa Waldman and Christopher Reiss.

In Junior Stock, Colin Belanger picked up the win over Flyin Ryan Tani, who was debuting a new kart. He looked fast, and will get even better as he works the bugs out it and gets it dialed in. Our Junior 1 driver was John DeBarber,Jr, and our Junior Clone driver was Alex Sokolow. In Junior 2, Tyler Belanger picks up another win, his ninth, over Alan Selemba and Derek Salerno. Joshua Gower made his Junior 2 class debut and did very well. In Junior Champ, Anthony Wood took home his eight win of the season, with Jessica Mattera taking second and Samantha Mattera taking third. The Heavys class saw Dan the Man Hoeffner take the lead away from Alex the Axeman Wanerus with the laps winding down, to pick up his second win in a row and second of the season. Alex had to settle for third as he was passed by Derek Potter for the second spot. In Senior Stock, Tom Brundage took the win over Kevin Morgan. Our Animal Heavy driver was John DeBarber. In Senior Clone, Matt Kamna took the win over a very fast Roger Guest. Arthur Coggins came home third. Good to see some more Clone karts coming to our track. In the Lights class, it was Patrick Kelly taking the win over Coan James.

In our Junior Slingshot class, a very fast Damon Paul took the wins in both heats , then picked up the win in the feature. Great job Damon! Points leader Matt DeRitter took second with Bobby Flood coming in third. In Senior Slingshot, Demetrios Drellos was the class of the field, and took the win. Steve VanValkenburg took second place with points leader Aaron Bush holding on for third. Our Rooike Slingshot drivers were Jason McGill and current Junior Sportsman Champ 1 class driver Jake Mason, who debuted his new ride. These young driver did a great job out there!

We are back in action next weekend, so we hope to see you at the track. Stop by the JK Performance Kart shop located along the backstretch wall for all your karting needs. Tires and fuel are available as well as rental karts. Be sure to visit our website and like us on Facebook! See Ralph Corwin of Ralph Corwin Photography for all the pictures from the days events. See you next week!

Great track, great people, best dirt kart track in New York State! Come check it out!!

†††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††oaklandvalleyspeedway.com



1.        (10) Danny Hoeffner (14.326) fastest lap speed 50.258

2.       (58) Derek Potter (14.477)

3.       (54a) Alex Wanerus (14.613)

4.       (58) Spencer Kronyak (14.704)



1.        (77) Patrick Kelly (14.533)

2.       (58) Coan James (15.362)


Junior Sportsman Champ 1:

1.        (18) Daniel Goetz (15.329) fastest lap speed 46.970

2.       (14) Robert Mattera (15.519)

3.       (95) Michael Jacques (15.780)

4.       (22) Johnny Diotte,III (15.955)

5.       (B4jr) Jake Mason (16.038)

6.       (9) Arlen Devantoy (16.927)

7.       (88) Dominick Abbatiello (16.360)


1.        (27) Roger Belanger (14.263)

2.       (611) Corey Wood (14.171) fastest lap speed 50.808

3.       (6) Dennis Matthews (14.323)

4.       (58) Dylan Potter (14.446)

5.       (10) Danny Hoeffner (14.411)

6.       (4) Pat Hayes (14.835)

7.       (31) Gregg Caldara (14.746)

Senior Stock:

1.        (28) Tom Brundage (14.499)

2.       (72) Kevin Morgan (14.660)

Junior Stock:

1.        (4) Colin Belanger (14.237) fastest lap speed 50.572

2.       (8) Ryan Tani (14.431)

Senior Clone:

1.        (34) Matt Kamna (14.459)

2.       (72x) Roger Guest (14.409)

3.       (26) Arthur Coggins (15.206)

Animal Heavy:

1.        (57) John DeBarber (13.862)

Junior 2:

1.        (1) Tyler Belanger (14.827) fastest lap speed 48.560

2.       (88) Alan Selemba (15.163)

3.       (4) Derek Salerno (15.392)

4.       (10) Joshua Gower (15.809)

Junior 1:

1.        (57) John DeBarber Jr (16.537)

Junior Clone:

1.        (25) Alex Sokolow (15.396)

Kid Kart:

1.        (17) Alyssa Waldman

2.       (1) Christopher Reiss

Junior Champ:

1.        (20) Anthony Wood (14.533) fastest lap speed 49.542

2.       (02) Jessica Mattera (14.765)

3.       (04) Samantha Mattera (14.700)

4.       (94) Douglas Goetz (14.971)

Junior Slingshot:

1.        (144) Damon Paul (14.490) fastest lap speed 49.689

2.       (03) Matt DeRitter (14.667)

3.       (91) Bobby Flood (14.876)

4.       (01) Anthony Recchio (14.759)

5.       (25m) Jake Granacher (15.364)

Senior Slingshot:

1.        (111) Demetrios Drellos (14.373) fastest lap speed 50.094

2.       (32) Steve VanValkenburg (14.583)

3.       (98) Aaron Bush (14.458)

4.       (117) Krissy Govertsen (14.623)

5.       (4) Chris Hall (14.580)

6.       DNS (2H) Tom Johnson

7.       DNS (3J) Bob Johnson

Rookie Slingshot:

1.        (62) Jason McGill (16.513)

2.       (95) Jake Mason (16.056)

See you at the track!!

Check our website for more information about our track at oaklandvalleyspeedway.com and like us on Facebook !